Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed
Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Medium icon
YouTube icon
Instagram icon

Ohio Congressional House Democrats Urge Ohio Gov. DeWine to Reject Administration’s Harmful SNAP Proposal

September 24, 2019
Press Release

Washington, DC - Reps. Tim Ryan (OH-13), Marcy Kaptur (OH-09), Marcia L. Fudge (OH-11), and Joyce Beatty (OH-03) sent a letter today urging Ohio Governor Mike DeWine to reject the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s (USDA) proposed rule to roll back Broad-Based Categorical Eligibility (BBCE) in the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP). The letter argues the proposal would impose hardship on over 61,000 Ohio households who would lose their SNAP benefits. The four Democrats in Ohio’s Congressional delegation issued a joint statement following delivery of the letter to Gov. DeWine:

“USDA’s proposed rule revising categorical eligibility in SNAP is just another attempt to circumvent the will of Congress and the American people. These changes would reportedly cause over 100,000 Ohioans to lose access to critical food assistance.  It is disheartening to know the Administration is purposeful in its attempt to take food out of the mouths of an estimated 3.1 million people, including 500,000 children and many elderly citizens across the U.S.  The treatment of our poor and most vulnerable citizens in this way is inhumane and irresponsible. We strongly urge Governor DeWine to stand up for Ohioans, oppose the Administration’s proposed changes and protect programs like SNAP.”

The text of the letter can be found here.