Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed
Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Medium icon
YouTube icon
Instagram icon

Congressman Tim Ryan

Representing the 13th District of Ohio

Congressman Tim Ryan and The Department of the Interior Announce $112,264 in “Payments in Lieu of Taxes” to Five County Area for Police, Fire and Schools

June 13, 2013
Press Release

Washington, D.C. – Congressman Tim Ryan and Secretary of the Interior Sally Jewell today announced $112,264 in payments to five counties in the 13th Congressional District that will help local governments carry out vital services, such as firefighting and police protection, construction of public schools and roads, and search and rescue operations. Approximately 1,900 local governments around the Nation are receiving a total of $399.8 million under the 2013 Payments in Lieu of Taxes (PILT) program.

"In this era of continual ‘belt tightening’ by our local governments, every dollar raised is significant,” said Congressman Ryan. “Compensating Ohio counties for activities that take place on federal non-taxable land makes sense and helps fund vital local services.”

The PILT program compensates counties and local governments for non-taxable federal land in their jurisdictions. Under the program, Summit County will receive $40,299; Trumbull County will receive $38,852; Portage County will receive $23,890; Stark County will receive $5,262; and Mahoning County will receive $3,961.

PILT program eligibility is reserved for local governments (mostly rural counties) that contain non-taxable federal lands and provide vital services, such as public safety, housing, social services and transportation. These jurisdictions provide significant support for national parks, wildlife refuges and recreation areas throughout the year. PILT seeks to compensate them for their support and foregoing tax revenue from these federal lands.

Using a formula provided by statute, the annual PILT payments to local governments are computed based on the number of acres of federal entitlement land within each county or jurisdiction and the population of that county or jurisdiction.

Pat Lowry
Communications Director
Congressman Tim Ryan
241 W. Federal Street
Youngstown, OH 44503
P: (330) 740-0193 (Youngstown)
P: (202) 225-5261 (Washington, D.C.)
C: (330) 717-8103