Congressman Tim Ryan Announces 13th District Congressional Art Competition Winners | Congressman Tim Ryan
Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed
Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Medium icon
YouTube icon
Instagram icon

Congressman Tim Ryan Announces 13th District Congressional Art Competition Winners

May 8, 2017
Press Release

Akron, Ohio – At a reception held today at the Akron Art Museum (One South High St., Akron, OH   44308), Congressman Tim Ryan announced the winners of the 13th District Congressional Art Competition. There were 50 entries this year from 11 high schools around the District.

"I think it is important to recognize the importance of the creative arts in the lives of our students and encourage them to participate in artistic endeavors as often as possible," said Congressman Ryan. "These students are risk takers and put their work out there to be judged. It’s that level of boldness that drives innovation and moves our communities forward, whether you are an artist, engineer, architect, or city planner. These men and women will help Northeast Ohio reshape its future."

Best of Show: Kevin Shaffer, Valley Christian High School.
His artwork will hang in the Capitol Tunnel in Washington, D.C. for eleven months.

1st Place: Jenny Wang, Firestone High School

2nd Place: Gianna Allesse Jones, Warren G Harding High School

3rd Place: Madison McGuire, Niles McKinley High School

Honorable Mentions:
Allexus Minor, Valley Christian High School

Alyssa Kellar, Valley Christian High School  

Andre Wooding, Kenmore High School

Bridget Walsh, Ursuline High School

Bristen Evans, Valley Christian High School

Derek Deppert , Kenmore High School

Elizabeth Butto, Boardman High School

Hayley Ohl, Trumbull Career and Technical Center

Josiah Hayes, Warren G Harding High School

Rea Gaugler, Niles McKinley High School

Tilchan Kalikotey, North High School

Tyra Cotto-French, Kenmore High School