Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed
Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Medium icon
YouTube icon
Instagram icon

Congressman Tim Ryan

Representing the 13th District of Ohio

Congressman Tim Ryan Applauds Announcement that 19 Counties will Regain Insurance Options in Ohio Marketplace

August 1, 2017
Press Release

Warren, Ohio – Congressman Tim Ryan made the following statement applauding the Ohio Department of Insurance announcement that insurers will cover 19 of the 20 counties that were set to lose insurance options on the federal healthcare exchange next year. These insurers include Buckeye Health Plan, CareSource, Medical Mutual of Ohio, Molina Health Care of Ohio, and Paramount Health Care. The Ohio Department of Insurance is still working to bring coverage to Paulding County – the 20th county.  These counties were set to lose options in the federal exchange next year due to Anthem’s announced withdrawal from the marketplace in June.

“I was deeply disappointed when I learned of Anthem’s decision to withdrawal from Ohio’s health insurance marketplace, leaving thousands of Ohioans with no insurance options. I applaud the Ohio Department of Insurance and the five insurers for working together and coming up with a plan to cover 19 of the 20 counties, and I look forward to a solution for Paulding County. This shows what we can achieve when our government institutions take initiative to ensure our national healthcare system works for all Americans,” said Congressman Ryan.

The 19 counties regaining coverage are Coshocton, Crawford, Guernsey, Hancock, Harrison, Hocking, Holmes, Jackson, Knox, Lawrence, Logan, Morgan, Muskingum, Noble, Perry, Van Wert, Vinton, Williams and Wyandot.