Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed
Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Medium icon
YouTube icon
Instagram icon

Congressman Tim Ryan

Representing the 13th District of Ohio

Congressman Tim Ryan Calls for Increased Transparency From Insurers

November 19, 2013
Press Release

Washington, D.C. – Congressman Tim Ryan and 19 Members of Congress requested today that the Department of Health and Human Services use the full extent of their authority to require additional disclosure from insurers who are sending health plan cancellation letters to customers.

A copy of the text sent to Secretary Kathleen Sebelius is available here.

The letter requests that insurers notify customers of why their plan is being cancelled, provide full information on what other options are available, and give customers additional time to select a new plan.

Many consumers have received notices that their health plan is being cancelled and told if they don’t take immediate action, they will automatically be enrolled in a more expensive plan. These letters fail to notify customers that more affordable options, including subsidies, may be available through the health care exchanges.

“I am pleased that the President has taken the appropriate steps to allow individuals to stay on their current health plans and ease the transition to new plans through 2014,” said Congressman Ryan. “All Americans deserve to receive the high quality healthcare that the Affordable Care Act ensures by eliminating pre-existing conditions, end discrimination against women, and expanding coverage to millions.  Those Americans whose current coverage does not meet these standards must begin to consider new plans, and during this process it is critical that they have accurate information on what their current plan covers and their options moving forward. As we move forward we cannot allow insurers to misrepresent coverage and mislead the public into choosing more expensive plans or continuing a plan that does not meet the basic standards every American deserves.”

The letter was signed by Representatives Brady (PA), Connolly (VA), Cartwright (PA), Delaney (MD), Enyart (IL), Esty (CT), Himes (CT), Horsford (NV), Jackson Lee (TX), McCarthy (NY), Moran (VA), Murphy (FL), Peters (CA), Peters (MI), Ruiz (CA), Ryan (OH), Schwartz (PA), Shea-Porter (NH), Titus (NV).