Dec. 18, 2009: Rep. Ryan Announces Military Academy Nominations and Hosts Breakfast for Nominees | Congressman Tim Ryan
Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed
Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Medium icon
YouTube icon
Instagram icon

Dec. 18, 2009: Rep. Ryan Announces Military Academy Nominations and Hosts Breakfast for Nominees

December 18, 2009
Press Release

Warren, Ohio – U.S. Congressman Tim Ryan (OH-17) today announced that 17 local students have been nominated to attend national military academies. Five students have been nominated for the Military Academy at West Point, five students have been nominated for the U.S. Air Force Academy, and seven students have been nominated for the U.S. Naval Academy.

“I am proud to nominate each of these students to be considered for acceptance to our nation’s military academies,” stated Congressman Ryan. “Once again, this is a very impressive group of applicants – and these academies serve to develop our young people intellectually, physically, and militarily to create tomorrow’s leaders. I am grateful to have the privilege to nominate such dedicated and inspiring students.”

Each nominee completed an application and interview with the 17th District Nomination Committee, and the group will be honored at a breakfast with Congressman Ryan on Sunday, December 20, 2009. The nominated high school seniors are as follows:




High School


Ryan McCollum


Warren JFK HS

Ron and Amy McCollum

Ben Beasley


Green HS

David and Carmen Beasley

Joseph Charnas


Lakeview HS

Craig and Nancy Charnas

Dominic Donofrio


Lowellville HS

John and Lisa Donofrio

Robert Sadinsky

Air Force

Walsh Jesuit HS

Robert and Christine Sadinsky

David Haury


Tallmadge HS

Rick and Susan Haury

Elizabeth Cunniff

Air Force

St. Vincent-St. Mary HS

John and Ann Cunniff

Sean Murphy


Poland HS

Dennis and Nancy Murphy

Jacob Palmer

Air Force

Green HS

Jeff Palmer and Debbie Perkins

Jacob Berg

Air Force

Maplewood HS

Phillip and Denise Berg

Conor Banyon


McDonald HS

Gregg and Kathryn Banyon

Jacob Barker


Austintown Fitch HS

Charles and Elaine Barker

Peter Stan


Champion HS

Keith and Jennifer Brainard

Zachary Horovitz


Field HS

Bradley and Laura Horovitz

Michael McClearn

Air Force

Howland HS

John and Lisa McClearn

Oliver Fryer


University School

Gary Fryer and Vera Ceglarek

Sam Thomas


Kent HS

John and Nancy Thomas



Press Advisory

WHO:             U.S. Congressman Tim Ryan

WHAT:          Military Academy Nominee Breakfast

WHERE:       McMenamy’s Banquet Center

325 Youngstown Warren Road

Niles, OH 44446

WHEN:          SUNDAY, DECEMBER 20, 2009

11:30 am


# # #