Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed
Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Medium icon
YouTube icon
Instagram icon

Congressman Tim Ryan

Representing the 13th District of Ohio

March 6, 2009: Ohio's 17th District receives $2,160,000 in 1st round of DOJ Stimulus Grants

March 6, 2009
Press Release
Normal 0 false false false MicrosoftInternetExplorer4 /* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:"Table Normal"; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-parent:""; mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt; mso-para-margin:0in; mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:10.0pt; font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-ansi-language:#0400; mso-fareast-language:#0400; mso-bidi-language:#0400;}


Funds included in the Edward Byrne Justice Assistance Grant Program


(Washington, DC) Congressman Tim Ryan (OH-17) is proud to announce that Ohio’s 17th Congressional District has been awarded $2,167,423 in the first stimulus program from the U.S. Department of Justice today. The funds will come as allocations in the Edward Byrne Justice Assistance Grant (JAG) Program.


“We cannot allow our national economic crisis to affect our communities’ ability to keep our streets safe,” said Congressman Tim Ryan. “This economic assistance to our cities and counties will ensure that our law enforcement community has the resources they need during these tough times.”


The JAG Program, administered by the Office of Justice Programs’ Bureau of Justice Assistance, allows states and local governments to support a broad range of activities to prevent and control crime and improve the criminal justice system. JAG funds can be used for state and local initiatives, technical assistance, training, personnel, equipment, supplies, contractual support, and information systems. Areas where the money can be spent include law enforcement programs; prosecution and court programs; prevention and education programs; corrections and community corrections programs; drug treatment programs; and planning, evaluation, and technology improvement programs. The eligible funds can be found below.


Mahoning County:                                                          $13,508

Campbell City:                                                                   $16,776

Struthers City:                                                                   $11,112

Youngstown City:                                                             $593,931

Eligible Joint Allocation:                                              $635,317


Portage County:                                                               $25,492

Kent City:                                                                            $45,972

Eligible Joint Allocation:                                              $71,464


Summit County:                                                               $38,128

Akron City:                                                                          $916,170

Cuyahoga Falls:                                                 $46,843

Tallmadge City:                                                 $11,112

Springfield Township:                                                    $24,402

Eligible Joint Allocation:                                              $1,036,655


Trumbull County:                                                            $18,737

Girard City:                                                                         $30,067

Niles City:                                                                            $61,659

Warren City:                                                                       $264,938

Howland Township:                                                        $12,201

Liberty Township:                                                            $15,687

Warren Township:                                                           $20,698

Eligible Joint Allocation:                                              $423,987


The county and individual cities and townships must come together with a plan for how the money will be spent before the money will be disbursed. The Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant (JAG) Formula Program applications are due May 18, 2009. Full instructions for our community’s application process can be found at:


A sample Memorandum of Understanding for local grantees can be found at:


Additional information can be found at:  In addition, the Department of Justice has set up an email address for communities that have questions about Byrne JAG or how to apply: