Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed
Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Medium icon
YouTube icon
Instagram icon

Congressman Tim Ryan

Representing the 13th District of Ohio

Rep. Tim Ryan Joins Rep. John Garamendi On Clean Energy Make It In America Legislation

April 17, 2013
Press Release

WASHINGTON, DC – Yesterday, Congressman Tim Ryan joined Congressman John Garamendi (D-CA), in reintroducing the Make It In America: Create Clean Energy Manufacturing Jobs in America Act, H.R. 1524. It would require that clean energy goods and equipment used in projects purchased or paid for by federal taxpayer dollars contain 85 percent American-made content. The bill sets a three-year phase-in schedule for the policy, with American content requirements set at 50 percent in the first fiscal year after enactment and 60 percent in the second.

“We have the technology and the ready labor force to manufacture clean energy goods and equipment—so the American taxpayer should not have to see their money go to other countries to do things we can do here,” said Congressman Ryan, Co-Chair of the House Manufacturing Caucus. “In addition, companies that are using production or investment tax credits should maintain or create American jobs. We can’t allow companies to use tax credits to ship our jobs overseas.”

“During good times and bad, booms and busts, America invests billions of dollars in our infrastructure. We know that clean energy is an absolutely essential part of our future, yet under current law, much of our tax dollars are directly shipped to China, the European Union, and other competitors to purchase equipment manufactured abroad. Our government is directly off-shoring too many American jobs, and that must change,” said Congressman Garamendi. “When we’re using our limited tax money, we better prioritize American-made goods and equipment. That’s the intent behind the Make It In America: Create Clean Energy Manufacturing Jobs in America Act.”

H.R. 1524 would also set an 85 percent American content requirement for companies that use the Investment Tax Credit and the Production Tax Credit.

The following Members of Congress are original cosponsors of H.R. 1524: Representatives Rob Andrews (D-NJ), John Conyers (D-MI), Joseph Crowley (D-NY), Peter DeFazio (D-OR), John Duncan (R-TN), Raul Grijalva (D-AZ), Brian Higgins (D-NY), Steny Hoyer (D-MD), Marcy Kaptur (D-OH), Dan Kildee (D-MI), Barbara Lee (D-CA), Dan Lipinski (D-IL), Rick Nolan (D-MN), Jan Schakowsky (D-IL), and John Yarmuth (D-KY).

# # #

Pat Lowry
Communications Director
Congressman Tim Ryan
241 W. Federal Street
Youngstown, OH 44503
P: (330) 740-0193 (Youngstown)
P: (202) 225-5261 (Washington, D.C.)
C: (330) 717-8103